All Eyes on WSOP High Roller Events This Summer

All Eyes on WSOP High Roller Events This Summer

As the 2019 World Series of Poker gets underway this week, all poker fans will be watching for different reasons. Some want to see the recreational players win life-changing money. Others want to see the important hands and how players win. Some want to watch for their friends to keep up with their progress.

Nearly every poker fan has at least one favorite player, though. They search the chip counts and live updates for that name – or names – to see how they fare. It could be Phil Ivey or Phil Hellmuth. It might be the newly-wedded and no-longer-PokerStars-affiliated Daniel Negreanu. Or it might be Maria Ho.

No matter the names of those famous players, it is likely that most of them will be playing in the highest-profile events at the WSOP. And many of those events require significant buy-ins.

Let’s take a look at the high roller tournaments on the 50th Annual World Series of Poker schedule, as well as the $10K buy-in championship events. We also note the website subscription(s) needed to view each tournament’s final table, as most of them will be livestreamed.

WSOP High Rollers

There is no exact definition of high roller tournaments, no minimum buy-in that puts a tournament in that category. But for the sake of sorting them here, we’ll say that any buy-in over $10K makes an event a high roller.

Event 5:  50th Annual High Roller NLHE

Buy-in:  $50K

Starting chips:  50K

Start date:  Friday, May 31

Final table date:  Monday, June 3

Livestream:  PokerGO

Event 45:  High Roller PLO

Buy-in:  $25K

Starting chips:  150K

Start date:  Wednesday, June 19

Final table date:  Saturday, June 22

Livestream:  CBS All Access

Event 58:  Poker Players Championship 8-Game Mix

Buy-in:  $50K

Starting chips:  300K

Start date:  Monday, June 24

Final table date:  Thursday, June 27 and Friday, June 28

Livestream:  PokerGO

Event 83:  High Roller NLHE

Buy-in:  $100K

Starting chips:  600K

Start date:  Thursday, July 11

Final table date:  Saturday, July 13

Livestream:  PokerGO and CBS All Access

WSOP Championships

There are quite a few tournaments on the 2019 WSOP schedule with $10K buy-ins. These are almost always labeled as championship events and almost always start with 60K chip stacks, setting them apart from other similar tournaments with varying buy-ins.

Event 2:  Super Turbo Bounty NLHE

Start date:  Wednesday, May 29

Final table date:  Thursday, May 30

Livestream:  PokerGO and CBS All Access

Event 8:  Short Deck NLHE

Start date:  Sunday, June 2

Final table date:  Wednesday, June 5

Livestream:  PokerGO

Event 15:  Heads-Up NLHE Championship

Start date:  Wednesday, June 5

Final table date:  Saturday, June 8

Livestream:  PokerGO

Event 18:  Omaha-8 Hi-Lo Championship

Start date:  Thursday, June 6

Final table date:  Sunday, June 9

Livestream:  CBS All Access

Event 21:  No-Limit 2-7 Lowball Draw Championship

Start date:  Saturday, June 8

Final table date:  Tuesday, June 11

Livestream:  PokerGO and CBS All Access

Event 29:  HORSE Championship

Start date:  Tuesday, June 11

Final table date:  Friday, June 14

Livestream:  PokerGO and CBS All Access

Event 35:  Dealer’s Choice 6-Handed Championship

Start date:  Friday, June 14

Final table date:  Monday, June 17

No livestream

Event 41:  Seven-Card Stud Championship

Start date:  Monday, June 17

Final table date:  Thursday, June 20

Livestream:  PokerGO and CBS All Access

Event 49:  Limit 2-7 Lowball Triple Draw Championship

Start date:  Thursday, June 20

Final table date:  Sunday, June 23

No livestream

Event 52:  PLO 8-Handed Championship

Start date:  Saturday, June 22

Final table date:  Tuesday, June 25

Livestream:  PokerGO

Event 62:  Razz Championship

Start date:  Wednesday, June 26

Final table date:  Saturday, June 29

No livestream

Event 65:  PLO-8 Hi-Lo Championship

Start date:  Friday, June 28

Final table date:  Monday, July 1

Livestream:  CBS All Access

Event 67:  Seven-Card Stud-8 Hi-Lo Championship

Start date:  Sunday, June 30

Final table date:  Wednesday, July 3

No livestream

Event 72:  Limit Hold’em Championship

Start date:  Tuesday, July 2

Final table date:  Thursday, July 4

No livestream

Event 73:  NLHE World Championship Main Event

Start date:  Wednesday, July 3 through Friday, July 5

Final table date:  Sunday, July 14 through Tuesday, July 16

Livestream:  PokerGO and ESPN

Event 86:  NLHE 6-Handed Championship

Start date:  Saturday, July 13

Final table date:  Tuesday, July 16

Livestream:  CBS All Access

 

 

About Jennifer Newell

Jennifer began writing about poker while working at the World Poker Tour in the mid-2000s. Since then, her freelance writing career has taken her from Los Angeles to Las Vegas and back to her hometown of St. Louis, where she now lives with her two dogs. She continues to follow the poker world as she also launches a new subscription box company and finishes her first novel. Jennifer has written for numerous publications including PokerStars.com and has followed the US poker and gaming market closely for the last 15 years. Follow Jen on Twitter

Disclaimer: The information on this site is my interpretation of the laws as made available online. It is in no way meant to serve as legal advice or instruction. We recommend that you seek legal advice from a licensed attorney for further or official guidance.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Articles